Various - The Blues 1923 To 1933

The Blues 1923 To 1933
Label: ABC Records ‎– 836046
Series: The Golden Years In Digital Stereo –
Type: CD, Compilation, Remastered, Stereo, Reprocessed Stereo
Country: UK
Date of released: 1988
Category: Jazz
Style: Dixieland

Download link (FLAC, MP3):

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Ida Cox Give Me A Break Blues
Piano – Jesse Crump
2 Cleo Gibson With Her Hot Three Nothin' But Blues
3 Rosa Henderson Barrel House Blues
Piano – Edgar Dowell
4 Frances Hereford With The Levee Serenaders Midnight Mama
5 Memphis Jug Band Kansas City Blues
6 Ma Rainey And Her Tub Jug Washboard Band Prove It On Me Blues
7 Issie Ringgold Be On Your Merry Way
8 Jimmie Rodgers With Louis Armstrong, Lil Armstrong* Blue Yodel No. 9
9 Bessie Smith Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
10 Mamie Smith Jenny's Ball
11 Victoria Spivey Moaning The Blues
12 Eva Taylor With Williams' Jug Band* Organ Grinder
13 Ethel Waters With Clarence Williams Get Up Off Your Knees
14 Margaret Webster, Clarence Williams' Washboard Band* I've Got What It Takes
15 Margaret Whitmire That Thing's Done Been Put On Me
Piano – Arnold Wiley
16 Lena Wilson With The Nubian Five He Used To Be Your Man


  • Remastered By – Robert Parker


Also on BBC

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
REB 683 Various The Blues 1923 To 1933 ‎(LP, Comp, RE) BBC Records And Tapes REB 683 UK 1987
L38695 Various The Blues 1923 To 1933 ‎(LP, Comp, RE) ABC Records L38695 Australia 1987
C 38695 Various The Blues 1923 To 1933 ‎(Cass, Comp) Australian Broadcasting Corporation C 38695 Australia 1987
ZCF 683 Various The Blues 1923 To 1933 ‎(Cass, Comp) BBC Cassettes ZCF 683 UK 1987
CD 683 Various The Blues 1923 To 1933 ‎(CD, Comp, RM) BBC Records And Tapes CD 683 UK 1988